Good Eats!

A trip to Jacksonville, FL held some great surprises. I stumbled upon a little diner that came highly recommended by its patrons, the Metro Diner. This diner specializes in breakfast and lunch. Some of the signature dishes are; chicken and waffles, meatloaf and their biscuits and gravy.

My assignment was to find a story and re-tell it through video. I obtained first-hand accounts from patrons, whom consistently visit the restaurant. I also got an account of the waitress who recommended customer favorites.

I started this project by first observing the restaurant in order to set the scene. I kept an eye out for a waitress that seemed very involved with the customers, and customers who seemed warm and inviting. Anybody that may have been willing to help with this project were greatly appreciated. After scoping out the area, I asked patrons if they would mind sharing their experiences with the Metro Diner. The one guest I went up to was more than willing to give me her experiences with this particular restaurant. After which, I got the accounts of the waitress who suggested different menu items. Most importantly, I caught B-roll footage which I used to help transition the video. The B-roll image was important in order for viewers to see the ambiance of the restaurant.

Overall, this project was interesting and allowed me to capture intimate moments with patrons of the restaurant. Not only did I enjoy the food, but the manager came up to me personally to let me know that I wouldn’t miss out on this experience because the Metro Diner will be arriving to Gainesville, FL in fall 2015.

Leave a comment